Esquire writer tours NY Church of Scientology

Posted: April 7, 2014 in 1st Person Contact
 I've read enough papers and worked with enough indices to know that no way in hell did this test come from Oxford

I’ve read enough papers and worked with enough indices to know that no way in hell did this test come from Oxford

Esquire writer, Ross Benes, takes a tour of New York City’s Church of Scientology … emerges with a copy of the faked Oxford Capacity Analysis. And an interesting observation about being approached in the men’s room.

After being subtly coerced in the men’s room into taking a personality test, I was issued the “Oxford Capacity Analysis,” a 200-item questionnaire that had no direction and seemed to lack methodical validity. While I’m not a personality expert, I spent a summer as a McNair scholar working with personality experts during which I wrote my undergraduate senior thesis on workplace personality types that I presented at a few academic conferences. I’ve read enough papers and worked with enough indices to know that no way in hell did this test come from Oxford. (The 1971 Foster Report for the United Kingdom government said the test “is not a genuine personality test; certainly the results as presented bear no relation to any known methods of assessing personality or of scaling test scores.”)
Not surprisingly, my test results were awful. I scored clinically low on everything but “aggression.” But “this could be helped with Dianetics,” I was told.

Leave a Reply

